Lenawee County Election

Of course I’m endorsing Ray Soff for County Commissioner in District 7. Lenawee can certainly make good use of Ray’s analytical skills. He’s a whiz with numbers and very pragmatic. He’s also my wonderful husband (full disclosure).

Ray is running for John Tuckerman’s seat. I think Lenawee County constituents would like to have more money in their pockets and less of their money going to government. We need our government funding to work harder and smarter because we need some relief.

Relief is an ambiguous term (like hope and change), the term would mean different things to different people –politicians like those malleable words. Ray doesn’t. Ray would use those words and terms to describe something in the most conservative way.

As far as Ray is concerned, “Relief” means lower taxes and reduced regulations. Not just for a few chosen winners…for everybody!

This is how I know; the following is a letter written to the Editor of the Adrian Telegram on October 19/2012. The letter didn’t get printed, it was overlooked, ended up in a spam box or got lost in a deluge of letters for the upcoming election.

On Oct 19, 2012, at 12:56 PM, Joshua Soff wrote:

Integrity Does Matter and Right is Right. Vote Ray Soff for County Commissioner

I want to thank my dad Ray Soff,  for something he did for me that at the time I didn’t appreciate very much at all. Not to go into any of the specifics of my actions as a youth, but I want to let the voters of Lenawee County know that when faced with tough decisions, my Dad will do the right thing.

When I was 16 years old, just 2 months before my 17th birthday, I was engaging in activities that could have landed me in jail for several years. Michigan can prosecute a 17-year-old as an adult. My dad tried everything he could think of to deter my actions. Grounding me didn’t work, and taking things away from me didn’t stop me either. He knew that he was not convincing me to correct my ways with his words or punishments, so he did the one thing that changed my life for the better. He made the toughest and hardest decision any parent could have made. My father called the police on me and had me arrested.  Yes, you read that right; my dad had me arrested.  I went to juvenile detention for a couple of days and got to see first hand where I would end up if I continued on my path of self-destruction. That was a very tough thing to put me through, but what he did was, make me responsible for my actions. He allowed me to see just where I was headed. That was a great wake up call for me and forced me to re-think what I was doing and the direction that I was heading in.

As a result, today I have 2 beautiful children, an amazing fiancée, a beautiful home of my own, a great job and a future that isn’t held hostage by my past. I’m not sure where that other direction would have lead me, but I am certain i wouldn’t be in as great of a place as I am right now. Thank you Dad for caring that much! You knew it wouldn’t make us best friends then, but you knew it would make us best friends now.

Joshua R. Soff
Superior Twp., MI

Thanks Josh for trying to give a real-life example of who Ray Soff is. It was pertinent background information for the voters of Lenawee to base a decision on.

Ray will remember who works for whom. Government Officials work for us, we pay their salaries. Ray Soff will work for you!

This entry was posted in lenawee county and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lenawee County Election

  1. Beautifully written! I’m sorry the newspapers didn’t publish that! There were a few letters written on my behalf that weren’t published either. In any event, best of luck to Ray and if he get’s elected and I do not, I hope he remembers me if he needs assistance or has a committee he needs a good mind to work on. I will support him! Rev. Paul Wayne Benjamin

    • Robin says:

      I’m sorry you know how it feels to not have time sensitive information relayed. It’s good to hear that it wasn’t a partisan matter from the Telegram, I received a genuine apology when I called to ask Mark Lenz about the letter. I’ll pass your good wishes and extension of support on to Ray, that was very kind Pastor Benjamin. I also wish you the best of luck tomorrow!

      • funnygurl2 says:

        Good luck to both Ray Soff and Paul Benjamin tomorrow. It turns out I am in District 6, so alas, I can’t support either of them with my vote.

        • Robin says:

          Well thanks Funnygurl! The Tecumseh Harold did a good job listing all the races with the incumbents and challengers for the election tomorrow in Lenawee. District 6 has been spared until next time. I don’t know whether to say lucky you or poor you, I always find the elections exciting; however, I’ve heard complaints about the campaigning/politicking from those that seemingly don’t like to be bothered by the process.

          P.S., I like the name of your blog…catchy!

  2. TheVoiceOfReason says:

    Once there was a small motel in a small town with two motels. The motel, newer than the other, had a placard where they could post specials for the month. Since they didn’t always have specials, they decided to use their placard to voice their opinion on various political situations/individuals.

    The motel, although much, much nicer and very reasonably priced, lost a lot of business to the older, pricier motel. They could not figure out why people would drive right by their nice motel in favor of the other….but I think we all know why.

    The Moral: If you need the good will of people to be successful at an endeavor, it is probably best not to tick them off with your political stance.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks for the story Voice, it sounds made-up. The problem is not whether or not people speak out regarding their political stance, the problem lies within the individuals that decide to become ticked off because someone else has an opinion. You’d be surprised how little effort it takes to tick some people off. Besides, everybody is at the mercy/in need of others good will. Shutting up and/or agreeing with others doesn’t make one more qualified to receive good will, it makes one intellectually impotent, cowardly and untrustworthy.

      The Moral: Speak the truth…even if it hurts, because lies hurt more.

      • Thevoiceofreason says:

        Actually, it is an absolutely true story

        You SHOULD speak your mind and find all of the evidence you can to support it. However, are you really surprised that your husband lost the election? The only endorsement I saw was from your son.

        It is possible that your views would have been more effective with your husband in the game, rather than yelling from the sidelines

        • Robin says:

          Well then, if its a true story we can do some research to confirm it. What are the names of the small motels and their addresses?

          In response to your second paragraph question, I am not surprised my husband lost the election, it was a long shot. When was the last time an Independent won an election in a predominately Republican district? It was probably about the same time when they outlawed straight party tickets in Michigan (lol). Ray had many endorsements, only one was published on this blog.

  3. Thevoiceofreason says:

    Believe me or don’t believe me. I doubt there is a web page for: I’m really messing up my business, but I must speak the truth

Tell us what you think!

